All About Estates

CCAC & Patients First- Bill 41

What’s new with the CCAC? As readers know our public sector delivery system has been delivered via the Community Care Access Centres (CCAC) which are located across Ontario. The CCACs have been funded by the Ministry of Health and Long Term Care via the Local Health Integration Networks (LHIN) strategically located across 14 regions across our great Province. The latest initiative is called Patients First: Action Plan for Health Care and it is geared towards providing care at a local level. The CCACs have been integrated into the LHINs and now have sub-regions which provide for a smaller geographic planning and service delivery area. It also includes creating provincial Patient and Family Advisory Councils to ensure family carers and care recipients are involved in decision making. Additional monies for increasing home care hours and caregiver support and respite was also promised.

The Ministry website advises ‘Ontario’s Patients First Act’ includes some structural changes to the health care system that will help patients and their families access the health care they need more quickly and closer to home. The system changes will lead to a more local and integrated health care system, improving the patient experience and delivering higher-quality care. These structural changes include more localized planning of the health care system to meet the unique health needs of every community across Ontario. This means that the Local Health Integration Networks will take on a bigger role to ensure that each person in the province is receiving the care they need, tailored to the needs of their specific community.’ -Ministry website accessed July 3, 2017

To identify your LHIN, access healthcareathome.ca and enter your postal code.
Central: central@lhins.on.ca
905-895-1240
416-222-2241
Central East: centraleast@lhins.on.ca
310-2222
Central West:centralwest@lhins.on.ca
1-866-370-5446
Champlain:champlain@lhins.on.ca
310-222
Erie St. Clair: eriestclairlhin@lhins.on.ca
1-888-447-4468
Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant: hamiltonniagarahaldimandbrant@lhins.on.ca
1-800-810-0000
Mississauga Halton: mississaugahalton@lhins.on.ca
905 855 9090
North Simcoe Muskoka:northsimcoemuskoka@lhins.on.ca
1-866-903-5446
North East:northeast@lhins.on.ca
310-222
North West:northwest@lhins.on.ca
1-866-907-5446
South East:southeast@lhins.on.ca
1-866-831-5446
South West:southwest@lhins.on.ca
1-800-811-5146
Toronto Central:torontocentral@lhins.on.ca
416-506-9888
Waterloo Wellington:Waterloowellington 1 866 306 5446

I am not exactly sure what these changes will mean to families. So far it is a name change. The CCAC case workers have a new business card.

About Audrey Miller
Email: amiller@eldercaring.ca About: Audrey Miller, Managing Director of Elder Caring Inc. has 25 years social work and rehabilitation experience working with older individuals and their families. She advises the financial, insurance, legal and business communities regarding elder care issues. Audrey is a recognized expert in her field.

0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *